Writing 101: Commit to a Writing Practice (BU Day 003)

Prompt: Write about the three most important songs in your life — what do they mean to you? Today’s twist: You’ll commit to a writing practice.

=

There are so many songs (and entire albums) that I would consider my favorite ear candy, but I can definitely highlight three I wouldn’t mind putting on repeat to the point of audio diabetes. They’re just that sweet~

Final Fantasy VII “Climhazzard Rush” OC ReMix by aluminum

Video games are such a huge part of my geeky existence that I tend to compare memorable scenarios from games to whatever trouble I’m going through in real life, and I realize that at least I’m not being chased by a twenty-foot tentacled plant monster trying to spew poisonous breath at me. Even though I don’t have the option to reset the mistakes I make with a simple press of a button, life does go on and hopefully I learn to avoid falling into the same sarlacc pit of trouble (then again, we all know Boba Fett survived that ordeal, twice in fact!). Things eventually work out in the end, and I can’t help playing the victory fanfare theme song (from the Final Fantasy series) in my head whenever shit hits the fan but somehow misses splattering my face. The first time I listened to “Climhazzard Rush” was in high school, and I sure as heck let the nostalgia-filled tune play over and over. Midterms and finals, drama between friends, expectations from parents, ah, high school, good times indeed… meh… Besides, any remix that includes a clip from Monty Python and the Holy Grail is fried gold, mate.

“Moonlight Sonata” by Ludwig van Beethoven

Middle school was interesting. My study habits during that time were the most solid compared to high school and college (and I was still able to do my gaming on a regular basis with straight A’s d(^_^)b*), but a lot of my would-be friends said I came off as intimidating back then. Bloody hormones making my face look moody and crap… Anyway, at the start of middle school in the sixth grade, my History/English teacher would pop in a cassette tape and let us listen to classical music while we read whatever we wanted for fifteen minutes. He often played “Moonlight Sonata” or the soundtrack suite from Out of Africa. I was already an avid reader way before middle school, but because of the daily routine of reading and listening to calming music after lunch, I became an obsessed book collector and regular patron of the dusty shelves in thrift shops with Beethoven’s piece in the back of my mind. My teacher retired at the end of the school year, so my batch was the last class he taught. Thank you, Guru G (and Mr. T, my Math/Science teacher), for making a philosopher out of me.

“The Ordertaker” by Parokya ni Edgar

Really simple explanation for this one:

My favorite Filipino comedy rock band + mashup of “Toxicity” and “Chop Suey!” by System of a Down + angry patron trying to buy lunch at a restaurant where everything he wants is sold out + wrestling = The Ordertaker

You’re welcome, fellow bloggers. XDDD*

2 Comments

  1. This is really interesting, love that you are a gamer. I am too :) I definitely understand how video game soundtracks can influence your life and also be very important to you. Found that I could connect to what you are saying about the gaming since I can relate.

    Reply

    1. (*nods nods*) Investing a lot of time playing a game, especially RPG’s, can leave a lasting impact for sure. I listen to instrumentals most of the time because of game and movie soundtracks, hahaha. Glad to hear from a fellow gamer! d(^_^)b*

      Reply

Leave a Reply

